Latest News

Telangana Assembly polls: Vote-day today; 2.8 crore voters hold the key | Published: 7th December 2018 | Posted Date: Friday 7th December 2018 02:07 AM

For the first Assembly elections of Telangana state, polling will be held on Friday from 7 am to 5 pm.

Hyderabad: Some 2.80 crore voters will decide who among the two main contenders — the Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS), or the Congress-led People’s Front — will form the next government in Telangana state. 

For the first Assembly elections of Telangana state, polling will be held on Friday from 7 am to 5 pm. For 13 Assembly constituencies the polling will be held from 7 am to 4 pm in view of the security problem. 

Some 1,821 candidates are contesting 119 Assembly constituencies. The TRS is contesting all 119 seats and the BJP is contesting 118 seats. Among the alliance parties, the Congress is contesting 99 seats, the Telugu Desam, 13, the Telangana Jana Samiti, eight, and the Communist Party of India (CPI), three. Malkajgiri Assembly constituency has the most number of candidates (42) and Bansuwada the least at just six.

In 25 Assembly constituencies up to 15 candidates are contesting. In 78 constituencies, 16 to 31 candidates are battling it out and 16 constituencies have more than 32 candidates in the fray.

The main fight is between the ruling TRS and the Congress-led People’s Front. In some constituencies the BJP and the Bahujan Left Front (BLF) led by the CPM are giving a fight to the TRS and Front candidates. In these constituencies the BJP and BLF may change the fate of the TRS and Front candidates. 




Hyderabad: Skyway proposed between Jubilee bus stand, MGBS

The skyway, projected to cost Rs 2,418-crore, has been proposed under the Strategic Road Development Programme.

Sangareddy: Unable to get down, man dies in car fire

Driver, with seat belt fastened, had stopped on ORR.

Hyderabad: Stalker victim back home safe

The hospital has got Rs 5 lakh from the Chief Ministers Relief Fund and some amounts are being waived due to the nature of the attack.

New ministers visit K Kavitha for blessings

Legislative affairs and transport minister Vemula Prashant Reddy had met Ms Kavitha on Tuesday, immediately after taking oath.

Dont bribe officials for houses: KT Rama Rao

Mr Rao said that government had the list of all eligible persons and asked people not give bribe to anyone or go to mediators.

Hyderabad: Minor fire mishap at Narayana School campus

According to fire control room report, an air conditioner stabilizer caught fire and smoke engulfed the entire room.

Supreme Court firm on transfer of Telangana HC Chief Justice

The Centre referred the proposal back to the CJI for reconsideration.

N Chandrababu Naidu, Mamata Banerjee cashing in on terror impact: G Kishan Reddy

Mr KCR is holding all the crucial departments. There are no women and no STs in KCRs new Cabinet, he said.

Lok Sabha poll to start the era of KT Rama Rao

As TRS working president, Mr Rama Rao has been given total responsibility for the Lok Sabha campaign.

A Revanth Reddy probed about N Chandrababu Naidus role

In the chargesheet registered in 2015 by the Anti Corruption Bureau, Mr Naidus name appears 20 times.

Telangana man shot dead by masked man in Florida

According to reports, the masked attacker shot Govardhan Reddy at about 8.30 am local time, killing him on the spot.

BJP using Pulwama for poll gain, says Sitaram Yechury

Mr Yechury said the nation was united as far as security was concerned.

comments powered by Disqus