Latest News

Ugly scenes as ZPTC names announced in Telangana | Published: 25th April 2019 | Posted Date: Thursday 25th April 2019 05:24 PM

Adilabad: In wake of the Zilla Parishad Territorial Constituency (ZPTC) elections, the existing groups of all the major political parties are active and trying to sabotage the winning chances of the opposition candidates.

Telangana Rashtra Samiti announced the name of Kova Laxmi as the chairperson candidate for Asifabad district. However the party did not announce any candidate for Nirmal, Mancherial and Adilabad districts.

The Congress announced the name of Charulatha Rathod for the Adilabad zilla parishad chairman’s post. News is that the Congress may field Bhukya Janaki as chairperson for the Nirmal ZP. BJP senior leader Madavi Raju along with his son Hanumanthu and supporters joined the Congress. Hanumanthu is aspiring for the Adilabad Rural mandal ZPTC ticket.

Some leaders who were aspiring for the ZP chairman’s post have begun playing spoilsport after the Congress high command announced the names.

There is tough competition among the candidates contesting the ZPTC and internal poaching is high, the caste factor is high as some of the posts are reserved.  

Rathod Ramesh who contested as MP candidate was eyeing the Adilabad ZP chairman post reserved for ST (general). He wanted to field his son Ritesh Rathod. But, it did not work out as criticism arose that all the seats were going to one family.




Kavitha unable to reap benefits of K Chandrasekhar Rao’s effort

BJP candidate D. Arvind, son of TRS Rajya Sabha member D. Srinivas, defeated Ms Kavitha by 80,895 votes.

ls shock for TRS, gets only 9 seats out of 17

Nama Nageswara Rao won Khammam for the TRS against Ms Renuka Chowdary of the Congress with the majority of 1,68,062 votes.

Hyderabad: Ministers’ family members lose big

Labour minister Ch. Malla Reddy’s son-in-law Marri Rajasekhar Reddy, again a fresh face, lost to TPCC working president A Revanth Reddy.

TRS, Congress do enough to halt BJP wave in state

Cadres celebrate BJP’s unexpected performance in Telangana.

TRS will review losses, says K T Rama Rao

Rama Rao congratulated Modi for being elected as the PM for the second time.

Muslims to get alienated: Asaduddin Owaisi

The MIM chief asked how many Muslim candidates won from the BJP.

Hyderabad: Slender win for 4 candidates

In Zaheerabad, the TRS’s B.B. Patil won by 6,229 votes or 0.60 per cent votes against the Congress’s E. Madan Mohan Rao.

Beaten in polls, Chandrababu Naidu now faces three rivals

In recent times, Mr Naidu has distanced himself from several political parties and bureaucrats.

Andhra result: Jagan’s right-hand man to play key role in government

Mr V. Vijaya Sai Reddy is considered as Mr Jagan Mohan Reddy’s man Friday.

Hyderabad: Parties get a different treatment for Lok Sabha polls

This trend was more starkly visible in Odisha where the Biju Janata Dal retained power for an unprecedented fourth term.

BJP victory makes fight for SCS much tougher

The BJP had sought YSRC support in the event of falling short of majority to form government at the Centre.

Hyderabad: 1 woman to represent Telangana in Lok Sabha

2014, too, the state had only one woman MP: Ms Kavitha.

comments powered by Disqus