Latest News

TRS, Congress to have tough fight for the by-elections | Published: 14th May 2019 | Posted Date: Tuesday 14th May 2019 05:53 PM

WARANGAL: The TRS and the Congress have announced their candidates for the by-elections to be held for the Warangal MLC seat under the local authority constituency. While the TRS named Pochampally Srinivas Reddy as its candidate, the Congress chose Parkal constituency in-charge Engala Venkatrami Reddy to contest the polls.

It was earlier believed that the Congress had fav-oured Mr Konda Muralidhar Rao or Ms Konda Surekha. It is learnt that they rejected the offer. Mr Muralidhar Rao was elected to the seat unanimously in December 2015 while he was a member of the TRS.

He resigned from the Council while defecting from the TRS to the Congress before the Assembly elections, necessitating the byelection. However, internal bickering is a cause of worry for the Congress candidate.

Mr Venkatrami Reddy needs to bring together his party leaders to be able to stand a chance of winning the election.

On the other hand, the TRS favouring Mr Srin-ivas Reddy is not going down well with party seniors. Several seniors were aspiring for the ticket, including state secretary Takkalapally Ravinder Rao, Kanneboina Rajaiah Yadav, Nagurla Venkate-shwarlu among others. Mr Ravinder Rao, who aspired for the Palakurthy ticket during the last Assembly elections, was assured of the ticket after the TRS decided to field Mr Errabelli Dayakar Rao. However, he was left high and dry once again.

On Monday, two sets of nomination papers on behalf of Mr Srinivas Reddy were filed with returning officer S. Dayanand. He is likely to file his third set of papers along with the party B Form on Tuesday, the last day for filing nominations. Mr Reddy is also expected to submit his nomination on Tuesday.

The nominations will be scrutinised on May 15, and the last date for withdrawal is May 17. Polling will be held on May 31 and the counting of vots will take place on June 3.




Kavitha unable to reap benefits of K Chandrasekhar Rao’s effort

BJP candidate D. Arvind, son of TRS Rajya Sabha member D. Srinivas, defeated Ms Kavitha by 80,895 votes.

ls shock for TRS, gets only 9 seats out of 17

Nama Nageswara Rao won Khammam for the TRS against Ms Renuka Chowdary of the Congress with the majority of 1,68,062 votes.

Hyderabad: Ministers’ family members lose big

Labour minister Ch. Malla Reddy’s son-in-law Marri Rajasekhar Reddy, again a fresh face, lost to TPCC working president A Revanth Reddy.

TRS, Congress do enough to halt BJP wave in state

Cadres celebrate BJP’s unexpected performance in Telangana.

TRS will review losses, says K T Rama Rao

Rama Rao congratulated Modi for being elected as the PM for the second time.

Muslims to get alienated: Asaduddin Owaisi

The MIM chief asked how many Muslim candidates won from the BJP.

Hyderabad: Slender win for 4 candidates

In Zaheerabad, the TRS’s B.B. Patil won by 6,229 votes or 0.60 per cent votes against the Congress’s E. Madan Mohan Rao.

Beaten in polls, Chandrababu Naidu now faces three rivals

In recent times, Mr Naidu has distanced himself from several political parties and bureaucrats.

Andhra result: Jagan’s right-hand man to play key role in government

Mr V. Vijaya Sai Reddy is considered as Mr Jagan Mohan Reddy’s man Friday.

Hyderabad: Parties get a different treatment for Lok Sabha polls

This trend was more starkly visible in Odisha where the Biju Janata Dal retained power for an unprecedented fourth term.

BJP victory makes fight for SCS much tougher

The BJP had sought YSRC support in the event of falling short of majority to form government at the Centre.

Hyderabad: 1 woman to represent Telangana in Lok Sabha

2014, too, the state had only one woman MP: Ms Kavitha.

comments powered by Disqus