Latest News

Congress finalises MLC picks: Party suspends Nagesh Mudiraj for public spat with VHR | Published: 14th May 2019 | Posted Date: Tuesday 14th May 2019 06:01 PM

Hyderabad: The Congress high command on Monday finalised its nominees for the May 31 elections to the Legislative Council from the local bodies quota. The names were announced by the Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee (TPCC) after receiving approval from the high command.

For the Warangal local bodies seat, the Congress picked Mr Engala Venkatram Reddy. He is a  senior Congress leader from Warangal district and had contested the Assembly election from the Parkal constituency in 2014.

For the Nalgonda local bodies seat, the party nominated Ms Lakshmi Reddy, the wife of Congress Munugodu MLA Komatireddy Rajagopal Reddy. TPCC secretary Uday Mohan Reddy was nominated for the Ranga Reddy local bodies seat.

Tuesday is the last day to file nominations. Meanwhile Congress leader Nagesh Mudiraj was suspended from the party on Monday for getting into a fracas with former MP V. Hanumantha Rao at a public venue last week.

The TPCC disciplinary committee headed by Mr M. Konda Reddy met at Gandhi Bhavan and took a decision to the effect.

The committee discussed the fisticuffs that broke out during the Opposition parties’ protest against the Intermediate marks fiasco last week. The quarrel between the two Congress leaders had embarrassingly shifted focus from the issue of the protest to the rivalry.

Mr Mudiraj appeared before TPCC disciplinary committee and explained his version. Mr Hanumantha Rao has already given his version in writing.

After discussing the matter, the committee took the decision to suspend Mr Mudiraj from the party.  Opposing this decision the city Congress leader staged a protest for some time at Gandhi Bhavan.




BJP tries to woo Telugu expats

Most Telugu NRIs are with TRS, TD or the YSRC, and BJP is trying to wean them away.

K Chandrasekhar Rao vows to legislate graft-free revenue law

CM said the archaic and obsolete Revenue Acts have inflicted immense damage on farmers and other people and they must go.

Godavari water eyed to solve crisis in Hyderabad

n In season of plenty, high-tech zone goes water-less.

K Kavitha to play crucial role in civic body polls

Ms Kavitha has kept away from party activities and public appearances since her defeat in the Lok Sabha elections.

Kaleshwaram to brighten Telangana, says Etela Rajendar

Colourful ceremonies, Guard of Honour mark I-Day celebrations across the districts.

BJP steps up attack on KCR, calls him a dictator

Dr Laxman also targeted TRS working president K.T. Rama Rao for his comments on religious harmony.

Discoms to ease people’s woes in 60 days

outhern Discom chairman and MD G. Raghuma Reddy said he had directed officials to visit the villages and inspect streetlight loads.

On I-Day, KT Rama Rao helps veteran’s kin to study

On August 10, ex-serviceman Veerabhadra Chari tweeted to KTR, seeking financial assistance for his daughter’s training.

Telangana High Court to allow efiling by yearend, says CJ

Addressing a gathering after hoisting the national flag to mark the 73rd Independence Day.

Telugu students wary to return to NIT Srinagar

The 130 Telugu students who returned home after the institute asked them to vacate the premises are in a dilemma on when to return.

Hyderabad: Two pilfer jet fuel, held

Nacharam inspector M. Mahesh said that by mixing it with kerosene, white petrol can be used as a fuel for vehicles.

Hyderabad: Police issues traffic curbs for I-Day

A large number of dignitaries and guests are expected to attend the programme.

comments powered by Disqus